SWE Engineering Career Panel – National Engineers Week

This past weekend, I meet up with the Outreach Team from the MIT’s Society of Women Engineers chapter for an event at the MIT Museum. The event was part of the Museum’s offerings for February Vacation Week – a vacation week for Massachusetts school children. February Vacation Week and National Engineers Week were the same week this year and the Museum’s events were all engineering-themed. For Saturday (2/23) the Museum invited MIT SWE to host a Career Panel at the Museum.

The MIT Society of Women Engineers chapter presents a panel of speakers to discuss "Women and Engineering" as well as exciting opportunities within engineering.

The MIT Society of Women Engineers chapter presents a panel of speakers to discuss “Women and Engineering” as well as exciting opportunities within engineering.

 

The panel sounded like fun and when SWE asked if I was interested in being part of the event as a student panelist, I agreed. On the morning of, the outreach team and the panelists met at the Museum to organize our thoughts as well as STEM-activity booths for after the discussion. The panel consisted of other students as well as two engineering professionals and engineering professor. I really enjoyed the discussion we had – I only wish I had an audio recording of the event! While I had the foresight to bring a mike/recorder with me but I was too far away from the other speakers to get good sound.  I’ll see if I can get any good audio off of the card. No promises.  We had a good crowd of 30+ children/parents.

Leave a Reply

